Home / News / What MOT Class Is My Vehicle

What MOT class is my vehicle?

19th May 2021

In the UK, every vehicle is categorised into an MOT class. These classes make it easier for garages and autocentres carrying out MOTs to ensure that the correct checks are made on the vehicle. This guide will help you determine what class your vehicle falls under, and how that affects the price of your MOT.

MOT classes explained

Each vehicle is categorised into one of 8 categories when it has its annual MOT. The eight MOT classes are:

Class 1:

Motorcycles, with an engine size up to 200cc, with or without side cars

Class 2:

Motorcycles, with an engine size over 200cc, with or without side cars

Class 3:

3-wheel vehicles up to 450kg of unladen weight

Class 4 (this class includes multiple vehicles):

  • 3-wheeled vehicles (over 450kg of unladen weight)
  • Motor caravans
  • Cars (of up to 8 passenger seats)
  • Private passenger vehicles and ambulances (9-12 passenger seats)
  • Ambulances and taxis
  • Goods vehicles (up to 3,000kg design gross weight)
  • Quads (max unladen weight 400kg – for goods vehicles and max net power of 15kb)
  • Private hire and public service vehicles (up to 8 seats)
  • Dual purpose vehicles

Class 4a:

Class 4 vehicles with 9-12 passenger seats with a seat belt installation check

Class 5:

Private passenger vehicles and ambulances (these can be 13-16 passenger seats and more than 16 passenger seats)
Play buses

Class 5a:

Class 5 vehicles (with a seatbelt installation check)

Class 7:

Goods vehicles over 3,000kg up to 3,500kg design gross weight

Source: GOV.UK

How much will my MOT cost?

MOT classes help us to determine how much an MOT costs. Smaller vehicles often need less checks which is reflected in the price. We currently do not offer MOTs on class 7 vehicles, but our Class 4 MOTs start from £24.95.

To find out how much your MOT will cost, contact your local Merityre team using our location finder.