Home / News / MOT Test Changes 2018

MOT Test Changes 2018

18th May 2018

From 20th May 2018 the MOT test will change with tighter rules for diesel car emissions and new defect categories. These changes are in line with the new EU roadworthy directive and will affect cars, vans, motorcycles and other light passenger vehicles.

What Are The Changes?

Tougher Emissions Testing for Diesel Cars

The new MOT test changes mean that there will be stricter emissions testing for diesel cars with a diesel particulate filter (DPF). If you are unsure whether this will affect you check your vehicle handbook which will state if your car does have a DPF.

A DPF is a filter often found on diesel cars which captures and stores exhaust soot in order to reduce emissions. It is illegal to remove a DPF from a vehicle and if an MOT tester finds that it has been removed or tampered with, your vehicle will be given a major fault unless you can prove that this was done for a legitimate reason, such as cleaning.

In addition, if smoke of any colour is emitted from the exhaust a major fault will be issued and your vehicle will fail its MOT test.

New Defect Categories

MOT faults will now be categorised as dangerous, major or minor depending upon the severity of the problem. If your car is categorised as having a dangerous or major fault you will fail your MOT test.

Vehicles with a ‘dangerous’ defect are a direct and immediate risk to road safety or has a serious impact on the environment and the vehicle cannot be driven until the defect is repaired. Major faults may affect road safety or have an impact on the environment and must be repaired as soon as possible.

Faults with a minor categorisation will pass the MOT test, however, it is imperative that you look in to having these issues fixed as soon as possible.

As per the current MOT test, advisories will still be provided if necessary and a pass means that the vehicle currently meets the minimum legal standard.

Older Cars

Rules surrounding older vehicles will also be changing in May. Currently, only vehicles built before 1960 are exempt from requiring an MOT, however, this will change so that cars, vans, motorcycles and other light passenger vehicles won’t need an MOT if they are over 40 years of age and have not been substantially changed. Details of what is classed as a ‘substantial change’ can be found on the government website.

Other Changes

There will also be some new items tested during the MOT test including:

  • Tyre pressures
  • Brake fluid
  • Fluid leaks that pose an environmental risk
  • Brake pads and discs and brake pad warning light
  • Reverse lights*
  • Headlight washers*
  • Daytime running lights*

*on vehicles first used from 1st September 2009 if they have them

The MOT Certificate

When you receive your MOT certificate you will notice that this has also changed. The design will now reflect the new fault categories, listing them in a clear and easily understandable format.

Contact your local Merityre branch for further guidance on the changes to the MOT test.

MOT test coming up? Book your next MOT online at Merityre Specialists.